## GRADUATE EDUCATION COUNCIL (GEC)

fficio		

Ex-officio membership:		
Name		Position
Kamran Siddiqui	ex officio	Chair of GEC, Vice-Provost (Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies)
Lorraine Davies	ex officio	Associate Vice-Provost (Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies)
Nica Borradaile	ex officio	Acting Associate Vice-Provost (Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies)
Alan Shepard	ex officio	President and Vice-Chancellor
Florentine Strzelczyk (designate: Lily Cho)	ex officio	Provost and Vice-President (Academic)
Ileana Paul	ex officio	Associate Dean-Graduate, Arts and Humanities
Kevin Mooney	ex officio	Associate Dean-Graduate, Music
Immaculate Namukasa	ex officio	Associate Dean-Graduate, Education
Laura Murray	ex officio	Associate Dean-Graduate, Health Sciences
Anabel Quan-Haase	ex officio	Associate Dean-Graduate, FIMS
Zoë Sinel	ex officio	Associate Dean-Graduate, Law
Lyn Purdy	ex officio	Associate Dean-Graduate, Ivey
Tom Drysdale	ex officio	Associate Dean-Graduate, Schulich
Miriam Capretz	ex officio	Associate Dean-Graduate, Engineering (acting)
Liz Webb	ex officio	Associate Dean-Graduate, Science
Elizabeth Hayden	ex officio	Associate Dean-Graduate, Social Science
Waliu Alaka	ex officio	President, Society of Graduate Students
Meira Machado	ex officio	President, Postdoctoral Association at Western
WG Pearson	ex officio	Chair, Senate Committee on Academic Policy
Christy Bressette	ex officio	Vice-Provost & Associate Vice-President (Indigenous Initiatives), Western University
Opiyo Oloya (designate: Michael Godfrey)	ex officio	Associate Vice-President (Equity, Diversity & Inclusion), Western University
Marisa Modeski	ex officio	University Registrar, Western University
Lily Cho (designate: Lise Laporte)	ex officio	Vice-Provost & Associate Vice-President (International), Western University
Penny Pexman	ex officio	Vice-President (Research), Western University
Catherine Steeves (designate: Kelly Hatch)	ex officio (n- v)	Associate Chief Librarian, Research
Aisha Haque (designate: Stephanie Horsley)	ex officio (n- v)	Director, Centre for Teaching and Learning, Western University
Jeremy Johnston	ex officio (n- v)	Program Specialist, Graduate Student Life, Western University

Heather Wakely	ex officio (n- v)	Associate Director, Careers & Experience, Student Experience, Western University
Jovan Groen	ex officio (n- v)	Director, Academic Quality & Enhancement, Western University
Mars Noorani	(	Digital Communications Specialist, Office of Associate Vice-President (Equity, Diversity and Inclusion), Western University
Mihaela Harmos	ex officio (n- v)	Postdoctoral Services Coordinator, School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

Elected/Appointed membership:			
Name	Term Expires	Constituency (* a member of SGPS)	Elected/Appointed By:
Robert Stainton	30-Jun-25	Faculty member*	Faculty of Arts and Humanities
Emily Ansari	30-Jun-25	Faculty member*	Don Wright Faculty of Music
Marguerite Lengyell	30-Jun-25	Faculty member*	Faculty of Education
Carrie Anne Marshall	30-Jun-25	Faculty member*	Faculty of Health Sciences
Sarah Smith	30-Jun-25	Faculty member*	Faculty of Information and Media Studies
Rory Gillis	30-Jun-25	Faculty member*	Faculty of Law
vacant	30-Jun-25	Faculty member*	Ivey Business School
Dan Hardy	30-Jun-25	Faculty member*	Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry
Dan Langohr	30-Jun-25	Faculty member*	Faculty of Engineering
Joseph Gilroy	30-Jun-25	Faculty member*	Faculty of Science
John Paul Minda	30-Jun-25	Faculty member*	Faculty of Social Science
Mary Helen McMurran	30-Jun-25	Graduate Chairs (or equivalent from nondepartmental faculties)*	Faculty of Arts and Humanities
vacant	30-Jun-25	Graduate Chairs (or equivalent from nondepartmental faculties)*	Don Wright Faculty of Music
Julie Byrd	30-Jun-25	Graduate Chairs (or equivalent from nondepartmental faculties)*	Faculty of Education
Liliana Alvarez Jaramillo	30-Jun-25	Graduate Chairs (or equivalent from nondepartmental faculties)*	Faculty of Health Sciences
Melissa Adler	30-Jun-25	Graduate Chairs (or equivalent from nondepartmental faculties)*	Faculty of Information and Media Studies
vacant	30-Jun-25	Graduate Chairs (or equivalent from nondepartmental faculties)*	Faculty of Law
Hubert Pun	30-Jun-25	Graduate Chairs (or equivalent from nondepartmental faculties)*	Ivey Business School
Charlie McKenzie	30-Jun-25	Graduate Chairs (or equivalent from nondepartmental faculties)*	Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry
Clare Robinson	30-Jun-25	Graduate Chairs (or equivalent from nondepartmental faculties)*	Faculty of Engineering
Jiandong Ren	30-Jun-25	Graduate Chairs (or equivalent from nondepartmental faculties)*	Faculty of Science

Godwin Arku	30-Jun-25	Graduate Chairs (or equivalent from nondepartmental faculties)*	Faculty of Social Science
Sylvia Kontra	30-Jun-25	Graduate Assistant (or comparable role with responsibility for graduate program administration)	Faculty of Arts and Humanities
Audrey Yardley-Jones	30-Jun-25	Graduate Assistant (or comparable role with responsibility for graduate program administration)	Don Wright Faculty of Music
Nancy Inchley	30-Jun-25	Graduate Assistant (or comparable role with responsibility for graduate program administration)	Faculty of Education
Jennifer Plaskett	30-Jun-25	Graduate Assistant (or comparable role with responsibility for graduate program administration)	Faculty of Health Sciences
Chris Circelli	30-Jun-25	Graduate Assistant (or comparable role with responsibility for graduate program administration)	Faculty of Information and Media Studies

Elected/Appointed membership:			
Name	Term Expires	Constituency (* a member of SGPS)	Elected/Appointed By:
Susuana Kwaning	30-Jun-25	Graduate Assistant (or comparable role with responsibility for graduate program administration)	Faculty of Law
Mindy Studnicka	30-Jun-25	Graduate Assistant (or comparable role with responsibility for graduate program administration)	Ivey Business School
Jennifer Franco	30-Jun-25	Graduate Assistant (or comparable role with responsibility for graduate program administration)	Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry
Courtney Harper	30-Jun-25	Graduate Assistant (or comparable role with responsibility for graduate program administration)	Faculty of Engineering
Thao Dang	30-Jun-25	Graduate Assistant (or comparable role with responsibility for graduate program administration)	Faculty of Science
Kara Brown	30-Jun-25	Graduate Assistant (or comparable role with responsibility for graduate program administration)	Faculty of Social Science
Marina Schmidt	30-Jun-24	Graduate student	Faculty of Arts and Humanities
vacant	30-Jun-24	Graduate student	Don Wright Faculty of Music
Julie Marion	30-Jun-24	Graduate student	Faculty of Education
Anna Lee LeBlanc	30-Jun-24	Graduate student	Faculty of Health Sciences
Celeste Laube	30-Jun-24	Graduate student	Faculty of Information and Media Studies
Safia Bagha	30-Jun-24	Graduate student	Faculty of Law
B. Pick	30-Jun-24	Graduate student	Ivey Business School
Jordyn Meaney	30-Jun-24	Graduate student	Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry

Ali Rabiei	30-Jun-24	Graduate student	Faculty of Engineering	
Matheus Sanita Lima	30-Jun-24	Graduate student	Faculty of Science	
Jesse Mehravar	30-Jun-24	Graduate student	Faculty of Social Science	
Peter Donahue	30-Jun-24	Affiliate University College	Affiliated University Colleges on a rotating basis (2 year cycles)	
Juan Manuel Díaz Villasenor	30-Jun-24	Postdoctoral Scholar	Postdoctoral Association at Western in consultation with Postdoctoral Services Coordinator of the School	
Other Members:	Other Members:			
Daniel Smith	Observer (n-v)	Dean of Theology, Huron University College		
Jamie Seabrook	Observer (n-v)	Chair, School of Food & Nutritional Sciences, Brescia University College		
Ron Wagler	Resource (n-v)	Director of Administration		
Whitney Barrett	Observer (n-v)	Associate Ombudsperson		