SCHOOL OF GRADUATE AND POSTDOCTORAL STUDIES Graduate Education Council – Committee Meeting

AGENDA

February 5, 2019 12:00pm – 1:30pm

International and Graduate Affairs Building room 1N05

Melitta Adamson Catherine Nolan Pam Bishop Ruth Martin Pam McKenzie Michael Coyle Lyn Purdy Susanne Schmid Kamran Siddiqui Jisuo Jin Jamie Baxter Stephen McClatchie Dennis Klimchuk Edmund Goehring Brenton Faubert Lorie Donelle Sharon Sliwinski Sam Trosow Stephan Vachon

Caroline Schild-Poulter Liying Jiang Marc Moreno Maza Kim Shuev Jeff Holmes Silvia Mittler Jayshri Sabarinathan Jean-François Millaire Lina Dagnino François Poire Arzie Chant Susan Simpson Wendy Hough Lori Johnson Adam Roy Mary Ott Ryan Chan Shelby Wilson-Powell Jenna Kitz

Frederick Curtis Lubbe Martin Lefebvre Nicole Kuntz Linda Miller **Lorraine Davies** Peter Simpson Caroline Dias da Costa Alencar Mary Blake Rose Bobby Glushko John Hatch G. Tigert Lee Ann McIvor Nanda Dimitrov Ron Wagler Ariana Potichnyj Garret Munch Kate Parham

- 1. Welcome and approve minutes from November 27, 2018
- 2. Business Arising from the Minutes
- 3. Revisions to the Senate Election Procedures: Senate Membership Changes to the Distribution of Senate Seats in the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (Linda Miller)
 - i. Graduate Student Population Change by Faculty Fall 2008 to Fall 2018
 - Attached for approval
 - ii. SGPS Senate Seat Review Fall 2008 and Fall 2018 Comparison Background
 - iii. SGPS Senate Seat Change Proposal Fall 2018 Background
- 4. Update on the GEC Committees
 - a) GEC Mentorship and Professional Development Committee updates (Aisha Haque)
 - b) Postdoctoral Advisory Committee updates (Peter Simpson)
- 5. Graduate Student Development at the CTL report (Aisha Haque)

- 6. Own Your Future Update (Nicole Kuntz, Lorraine Davies)
- 7. Policy Update (Lorraine Davies)

Other Business