Western Graduate & Postdoctoral  Studies


Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

Program Websites

Program Contact

Meghan Magowan (mtalbot3@uwo.ca)
Administrative Assistant

Department of Philosophy

Western University
Stevenson Hall Rm 3148
London, Ontario N6A 5B8

t. 519-661-2111 ext. 85744
f. 519-661-3922

The PhD in Philosophy at Western in a four-year fully funded program. In their first year students take courses; in their second they take a comprehensive exam in their main research area and complete a course that will lead the writing and defend of a thesis prospectus; their third and fourth years are spent writing their dissertations. The courses and supervision available reflect the strengths and diversity of interests of the faculty, which collect along five principal fields: feminist philosophy; history of philosophy (ancient, medieval and modern); moral, political and legal philosophy; philosophy of mind and language; and philosophy of science (including mathematics and logic.

Times to Completion

  • 12 Terms (4 years)

Curriculum Options

  • Full-time study
  • Thesis-based

Funding Details

Applicants (domestic and international) are encouraged to apply for the following scholarships:

Admission Requirements

  • Master's degree from an accredited institution.
  • Minimum 70% average in the Master's degree.

In special circumstances, admission will be offered to students with a Master’s in another discipline, depending on whether their program of study for the Master’s is appropriately related to their intended area of research in philosophy.

Test Requirements

Applicants whose first language is not English must furnish evidence of their proficiency in the use of the English language:

Application Deadline(s)

  • January 7 - Fall term
  • November 30 - Winter term

Acceptance notification in February for fall admission.

Fields of Research

  • Feminist Philosophy
  • History of Philosophy
  • Moral, Political and Legal Philosophy
  • Philosophy of Mind & Language
  • Philosophy of Science