SSHRC Doctoral Research Awards

The Social Science and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) offers two streams of awards through one application: the Joseph-Armand Bombardier Canada Graduate Scholarships-Doctoral (CGS-D) and the SSHRC Doctoral Fellowships.

The SSHRC Doctoral Fellowships and Joseph-Armand Bombardier Canada Graduate Scholarships (CGS-D) Doctoral Scholarships are research training awards and aim to develop research skills and assist in the training of highly qualified personnel by supporting students who demonstrate a high standard of scholarly achievement in graduate studies in the social sciences and humanities.

Canada's three federal granting agencies, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) have been working together to harmonize the Canada Graduate Scholarships - Doctoral (CGS-D) Program which involves a new common CGS-D webpage, a harmonized timeline, and harmonized evaluation criteria. ​

CGS-D harmonization will not impact the agency-specific doctoral awards (CIHR – Doctoral Foreign Study Award, NSERC – Postgraduate Scholarship, SSHRC – Doctoral Fellowship) nor their eligibility conditions. 

More information on the CGS-D program including eligibility, application process, and selection process is posted on the new Tri-Agency Canada Graduate Scholarships - Doctoral Program webpage.

Value and Duration

  • CGS-D: $35,000 per year for 36 months
  • Fellowship: $20,000 per year for 12, 24, 36 or 48 months

Timeline and Deadlines

  • August 1 : Application opens in the SSHRC Online System
  • September 25 (8:00 p.m. EDT) : SSHRC Online Application Deadline for Western University 
    • This is a hard deadline and applications cannot be returned for corrections/revisions after this date
  • Between  October 1 and October 7: Application access provided to Faculites 
  • October 28 : Faculties submit ranked A-lists by agency to SGPS
  • October 30 to November 13 : SGPS selection committees select A-list applications for the three agency quotas 
  • November 23 : Agency Deadline for universities to submit selected applications (CIHR, NSERC, and SSHRC)
  • April : Anticipated notice of decisions


How to Apply 


Holding the Award at Western

Acceptance and Activation

  • Accept the offer of award from the agency following the instructions provided in the letter of offer, and then activate it for payment by completing the required agency forms.
  • Initiate the payment process at Western by following these steps:
    • Access the Student Center
    • Select ‘Self Service’ from the main menu, then 'Campus Finances'
    • Select ‘My External Scholarships’ and follow the activation steps for the SSHRC
    • Choose the start date that matches the date stipulated by the agency in the offer

Method of Payment

  • At Western University the annual value of an award is divided into three equal installments and each is pre-paid to the award holder’s Student Center account at the start of every term (September, January and May).

Terms and Conditions

  • The Tri-Agencies (CIHR, NSERC and SSHRC) have harmonized their post-award policies, where possible, for research training programs and have incorporated these policies into a harmonized Tri-Agency Research Training Award Holder's Guide. These policies became effective September 1, 2016 and the Guide is available on NSERC's website. The Guide applies to Tri-Agency research training awards such as Vanier CGS, NSERC PGSD/CGSD, SSHRC DF/CGSD, CIHR CGSD and all CGSM. It contains all the forms that training award holders and the University need to facilitate post-award activities allowed by the Tri-Agencies.
  • Complete an annual SGPS Progress Report Form
    • Submit the form by the deadline specified by SGPS in the annual notification email
    • Annual deadlines will vary for each Vanier Scholar depending on the anniversary of the award start date, but will annually fall in either August, December, or April
    • A Progress Report can be submitted no earlier than 60 days prior to the anniversary date
    • Failure to submit the annual Progress Report will result in the suspension of further payments